To blog, or not to blog?

I’ve been struggling with this blog for awhile now, even when it started,I had no idea what direction it would take, or what kind of blog I wanted it to be, so in my frustration I’ve been writing scattered half-assed blog posts because I simply cannot decide how to set up this blog. With some upcoming events in my life I decided I should pick this blog back up, and by back up I mean really get it going – because it never really launched full force anyways.

I’m hoping in writing this I’ll maybe get some readers to help me out, or it’ll help organize my thoughts a little bit and make a decision! I guess there aren’t really reasons NOT to have a blog – but more like obstacles I’m having trouble with.

Obstacles

1. The big one is based off an article I read from the ProBlogger site, that was about having a succesful blog and finding your niche in the blogsphere. I don’t know what I want my blog to be about! There’s so many topics I want to cover, but according to the article, having a broad range of topics won’t attract a steady, specific crowd. For example, if I try to make this a video game blog, and a photography blog, the gamers might not be interested in the amount of photography related posts I make, and get disinterested in my blog as a whole, and vice versa.
Darren Rowse suggests making separate blogs for separate topics, but I have trouble managing one tiny blog, so handling more than one would be a disaster. Here’s the topics I’d like to feature in a blog..
Photography
Gaming (specifically..World of Warcraft, because yes, I’ll admit I’m a huge nerd)
Fashion
Health/Beauty/Body Image
Positivity
Personal blogging
Fitness
I’d especially love to make this a personal blog and encompass all of the above. I’m a gaming nerd as much as I like make-up, as much as I like hiking and fitness. I don’t want to be put in a little blogging box and just be “that fashion blog” or “that gaming blog” but..
Problem #2 I know not every reader is like me and cares to read about a random person on the internet, and I have the feeling getting traffic for a personal blog would be rough. I don’t plan on making money from blogging at all, I just really enjoy connecting with people.

#3. Silly excuse, but I’ve been frustrated with my layout and it makes me not want to blog. I don’t plan on getting the full thing of WordPress, so I think my layout options are limited.

#4. Someone I used to look up began to make me feel like I wasn’t good enough, including my writing and thoughts. I’m not sure if it was intentional, but it happened and I’ve been having a very hard time gaining self-confidence and not re-thinking every, single word I type down, not thinking every thing I write is horribly unoriginal and not worth saying.

Reasons to Blog!

#1. Commenting on other blogs – having a blog for other people to get back to me (I love seeing comments on other blogs and finding new blogs!)

#2. A creative outlet for all the little ideas and pictures I have, and hopefully a way to get feedback on, and improving my writing.

My Reason To Blog list is considerably smaller than the other list..

I’m going to try to blog, even if I’m the only reader and see how it goes for now, I hope it goes well! (P.S. I hope this doesn’t make me seem like I’m desperate for readers, I’m not and I’m well aware that my blog is very obviously undeveloped and needs loads of work)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

